Community Post

School Board Candidate’s Forum for the Central District/Capitol Hill area

District 5 SPS School Board Candidate Forum

When: Monday, July 20 from 7 – 8:30pm
Where: Garfield Community Center
2323 East Cherry Street, corner of 23rd

Why: Of the 11 Central Cluster schools, seven experienced closure and/or program movement. Parents are concerned about the impact on their schools next year, as well as district-wide policies around a new student assignment plan, curriculum adoption and alignment, equitable program access, teacher effectiveness/quality teacher retention, and genuine communication and partnership with Seattle Public School families.

This is an opportunity for the community to ask the candidates in District 5 about how they intend to shape the policy decisions that will come before them if they are elected to the school board.

Who: The school board directors govern our district. It matters who gets elected! The board works with district administrators to set policy and make decisions, including the superintendent who reports to the board and carries out our board’s vision and direction.

The Candidates: Three candidates are challenging incumbent Mary Bass for the central cluster school board director seat:
Mary Bass – [email protected]
Joanna Cullen
Andre Helmstetter
Kay Smith-Blum

The Primary Election: We vote by school board district in the August 18 Primary. It’s a non-partisan race in which we will nominate two of the four candidates to move on to the General Election. We vote city-wide for all school board candidates in the November 3 General. Those elected serve four-year terms.

Don’t forget to register to vote!
July 18 is the deadline for registering online
Or you can register up until Monday, August 3 in person at the King County Elections Office.

0 thoughts on “School Board Candidate’s Forum for the Central District/Capitol Hill area

  1. School Board directors can play a huge role in the shaping of our neighborhoods and city over all- not to mention the shaping of policy and procedure that ensures academic/social/civic development for our students. Dist 5 saw huge changes under the district’s capacity management plan this year. Our schools include:
    -Leschi (merged program)
    -Lowell (moved/merged)
    -Meany (closed)
    -Nova (closed bldg/move program)
    -T. Marshall (merged)
    -T.T. Minor (closed bldg)
    -Washington (moved program)